Beauty, Bobbi Brown, Foundation, REVLON, WOC, Women of colour

Melanin Friendly – Revlon Colorstay and Bobbi Brown Foundation

IMG_20160404_051645

 

Hi all!

This post is going to be all about foundations. I’ve been using Bobbi Brown’s Warm Almond foundation in the Moisture Rich formula since I was 16 years old. I then dabbled with MAC’s foundations (in particular, their Studio Sculpt formula) but while I liked the coverage it was too light for me and other MAC formulas (Studio Fix and Matchmatcher) didn’t suit me. To be honest I found the colour to be too orange and my skin has more yellow tones.

I then discovered Bobbi Brown’s new Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation in Warm Almond. It’s lighter in colour than the same shade in the Moisture Rich formula(so it matches my skin tone better) and has the benefit of being matte which I really need as I have combination skin.

It currently retails at £31.50 for 30ml.

It’s definitely my favourite high-end foundation for black/brown skins that I’ve tried so far. It has a faint lavender smell (which the MUA assured me was added to calm the skin) and thankfully didn’t cause me of skin sensitivities. It lasts a long time, provides good buildable coverage and looks really nice once set with the Bobbi Brown Sheer Finish Pressed Powder in Golden Brown.

Now I know a lot of people like makeup on a budget so I knew I had to include my favourite drugstore foundaton. It took a while for me to find a really good one. I tried Sleek’s oil free formula, Superdrug’s B foundations but I was never truly happy with them. The Sleek foundation would run white on my face once I cried laughing or had watery eyes due to the wind, and the colour wasn’t yellow enough. The Superdrug foundation had really good coverage but had the SLIGHTEST red undertone and was very difficult to remove at the end of the day.

Then came Revlon 🙂

I had a lovely assistant in the Superdrug in the Bullring help me to acquire a sample of the Revlon ColorStay Foundation for oily/combo skin in 400 Caramel .

Boy, was I impressed! It was only £12.99 for 30ml and boasted 24 hour wear. Now I’ve never worn foundation for a whole 24 hours but this drugstore foundation lasts all day and provides great coverage. Especially when buffed in using my Bare Minerals Precision Face  Brush. I love that brush 🙂

I wouldn’t say it’s as matte as my Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation in Warm Almond, but for £12.99 I can’t really complain! Anyone who knows me, knows I’m obsessed with Bobbi Brown’s products. So I’ve surprised myself by wearing this foundation more often. So much so, I actually bought three new bottles during Superdrug’s 3 for 2 promotion on Revlon’s products.

Both foundatons contain an SPF of 15 which is really important as sun exposure damages our skin over time and is the key culprit for premature ageing. Foundations, whether drugstore or high-end should contain an SPF as standard so always look out for that.

I’ve included some photos below for comparison:

 

IMG_0327

IMG_0340.JPG

I’ve had the Bobbi Brown foundation for a while now, and foundations tend to oxidise over time so that’s why it looks a little warmer in tone compared to the Revlon Colorstay foundation.

IMG_0148.JPG

Revlon ColorStay in 400 Caramel above 🙂

 

SDC15942

Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Even Finish foundation in Warm Almond above 🙂

If you’re looking for a great foundation on a budget I would definitely recommend the Revlon ColorStay foundation. If, like me, you love to splurge, then by all means go for Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Even Finish foundation.

Hope this helps! Please comment with your thoughts or any suggestions.

Black Pistachio x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Melanin Friendly – Revlon Colorstay and Bobbi Brown Foundation”

  1. Hi, it’s nice to see some review about these products.. I’ve been using revlon colorstay for a while and I love it! It’s cheap and it does the job very well..
    But I’ve been thinking about upgrading to bobbi, rhe problem is that I have really oily skin and somewhat prone to acne and comedones, do you think the long wear even finish will suit me? Or should I get the skin foundation one?
    Tbh, I’m kinda scared when trying new makeup (as I don’t wanna waste money on something I can’t use!) so any guidance will be much appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Like

  2. Hi Kevin!
    Since it’s oil-free I doubt it would make your skin worse, but sometimes you won’t know till you actually try the product. I haven’t got on well with all the oil-free foundations I’ve tried tbh. I totally get you! Money does not come easy. I would go to a counter and get one of the MUAs to try some on you 🙂 Let me know how you get on 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

