Beauty, Eyeshadow, Urban Decay

Urban Decay Vice 4 Review and Swatches on Dark Skin

IMG_20160215_122630

 

 

 

 

IMG_0578IMG_0576IMG_0572IMG_0565

Hi, I’m back!

I bought the Urban Decay Vice 4 palette from Debenhams last year but I’m only just reviewing it now. Oops. I’ve been able to use some of the colours since purchasing it so I feel I can give a more well-rounded review now I’ve had it a while. It’s still available online and just recently it was on offer at Debenhams for £30. It’s normally £43! I didn’t really think twice about the price but as one of my besties has repeatedly pointed out, that is a lot of money to spend on ”face paint” 😀

I hope these swatches made you salivate as much as I did over the palette’s mere release!

Urban Decay never fail to disappoint. Their colours are edgy, vibrant, pigmented (take a shot every time I say that), buttery, long-lasting (with primer, let’s be real) and come in some awesome colours and textures/finishes. It wouldn’t be a stretch to say they’re my favourite eyeshadow brand; followed very closely by Sleek MakeUP. One of the things I love about Urban Decay are their stance on animal testing. They don’t sell in China or test on animals which I think is amazing and commendable for a highend cosmetics company. Their brand ethos is relateable: the powerful, confident woman who isn’t afraid to stand out. What’s not to like?

The Vice 4 palette is well worth the money. You get 20 eyeshadows (0.8g each) that range from mattes, shimmers and those that are on the glittery spectrum. The colours are typical of Urban Decay, bright and bold. Summer’s coming up, so for those who feel a bit funny wearing brights in the autumn/winter seasons, there’s your excuse. You can be summer ready with this eyeshadow palette alone. I bought this palette last summer and was rocking Grasshopper in December (no fear). Urban Decay’s eyeshadows work best with their popular eyeshadow primer potion. I use Eden as my lids can be a little oily. With the primer these eyeshadows will not shift, melt or fade away.

The only eyeshadow I would describe as a dud is Grip. On my skintone (think NC50 or Revlon Colorstay’s Caramel foundation) it barely showed up and didn’t swatch very well. All the other eyeshadows swatched beautifully and I could tell that with a little water or MAC Fix + for you fancy people, these eyeshadows will be even more vibrant.

The mattes eyeshadows in the palette are Framed, Discreet, Bitter and Delete but that does have a tiny bit of a shimmer to it but it’s not very noticeable.

The shimmer eyeshadows are Bones, Grip, Deadbeat, Beat Down, Fast Ball, 1985, Underhand, Harlot, Grasshopper, C-Note, Robbery and Low

The glitteryish eyeshadows are Flame, Pandemonium, Arctic and Crowbar

The packaging is very cool.

In short, this palette is perfect for shimmer junkies like myself. If you love bright vibrant eyeshadows then definitely give Vice 4 a shot.

Do you own Vice 4? What are your favourite eyeshadows?

blackpistachio x

IMG_20160215_122630

 

Leave a Reply

