bareMinerals, Beauty, Makeup Brushes, Real Techniques

What Makes a Good Foundation Brush?

What Makes a Good Foundation Brush?

Density. Softness. Doesn’t shed.

IMG_1004.JPG

I thought I’d answer this question right off the bat. I’ve been wearing make up for 10 years and I’ve used a lot of makeup brushes in my time. (Making myself sound old, this was not the plan).  Thanks to Youtube and Pixiwoo I discovered Real Techniques’ brushes. They are nothing short of AMAZING. They are affordable, cruelty free, synthetic, SUPER soft, don’t shed, great quality and can be used to apply a range of products.

The Buffing brush is part of Real Techniques’ Core Collection (£21.99) and can’t be bought separately.

The Buffing brush is nice and soft, fairly dense and applies my foundation well. It’s easy to clean and doesn’t shed. For a long time this was my favourite brush for applying my foundation until I discovered Bare Minerals.

The Precision Face brush (£24) is incredible. It’s soft and super dense. This is the most dense brush I’ve ever used. Like, really dense. DENSE. It doesn’t suck up all my foundation on application, and it buffs the product into my skin and doesn’t leave any streaks. My base always looks flawless using this brush. It’s not cheap but the price actually matches the quality. I strongly recommend deep cleaning this brush every week to keep it in tip top condition.

Before I go, what do I think of the traditional foundation brush?

This brush is merely for applying the product on your face but NOT for buffing it in and creating that flawless base you crave. In all honesty, I don’t think it’s a brush you need and if anything you can use your fingers and save some money. For that flawless base, get your buff on 🙂

What’s your favourite foundation brush? Let me know 🙂

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Love blackpistachio x

Leave a Reply

