Beauty, MAC, Mary Kay, Primers

If You Don’t Use Primers, You Should

img_1887

Reasons you should use a primer:

It will create a smooth base for makeup application. It will fill in any fine lines and make your makeup last longer. No more makeup fading away and getting patchy by midday. Your skin will feel velvety soft and your foundation will apply much nicer. You do need to pay attention to the main ingredients in your primer, though. If your foundation is water-based you should use a water-based primer. If your foundation is silicone-based then you need to use a silicone-based primer.

I’ve used two primers in my life. The MAC Prep & Prime Skin Base Visage (30ml) and the Mary Kay Foundation Primer SPF 15 (29ml).

The MAC Prep & Prime Skin Base Visage retails for £21.50 and the Mary Kay Foundation Primer for £14. Can you guess which one is my ultimate favourite?

It’s not MAC!

I repurchased the MAC Prep & Prime Skin Base Visage a few times but got fed up of paying 20+ quid for only 30ml of product. I didn’t see a massive difference in my skin regarding oiliness and makeup longevity but I liked the texture of the primer and the shimmer. It did leave a nice finish to my skin in all honesty.

My mom has never been impressed with the amount I spend on beauty products. ”Mary Kay is just as good”. So after much badgering I gave in and finally tried the Mary Kay Foundation Primer.

In the end I was very happy with it!

It made a remarkable difference to my makeup application. My makeup lasted longer and the effects were obvious. I had less shine on my nose and forehead. I needed to use less powder and my makeup went on smoother. The best thing is the cost. Only £14 quid. Much more budget friendly, especially for me since I don’t blink an eye when spending money on products that are little bit pricey. I almost forgot, this primer contains SPF 15 which is great. SPF in skincare and makeup is a must. SPF protects you against premature ageing and skin cancer. Not something to skip.

This is my favourite primer and I know that when I use it I don’t have to worry about my makeup wearing off. I know that as long as I use this primer my makeup base will look flawless and stay matte. I’m glad I gave it a go.

That being said the MAC Prep & Prime Skin Base Visage isn’t a bad primer. The texture is creamy and the shimmer it leaves on the skin is very flattering.

MAC Prep & Prime

But for makeup longevity and cost effectiveness, the Mary Kay Foundation Primer is a winner for me.

My mom is a Mary Kay consultant. If you express interest in purchasing the Mary Kay Foundation Primer through the link below via the message box you’ll receive a 10% discount! My gift to you 🙂

Mary Kay Foundation Primer 10% off

What is your favourite primer? Is it drugstore, highend or in the middle?

Love blackpistachio x

Leave a Reply

