Cinema, Lifestyle, Race, Social Politics

Cinematic Fire – Get Out the Comedy Horror Everyone is Talking About

20170319_013613

 

I’m in a daze. I felt so dizzy walking out of the cinema.

I went to the multiplex this time to see Get Out. Odeon on New Street. Not my first choice but I was eager to see it as soon as it was released. I must say, I’m not a fan of the multiplex. Cinema goers rarely behave themselves. Take for example, the annoying couple who did NOTHING but mack on each other for the ENTIRE movie. No exaggeration. THE ENTIRE BLOODY MOVIE. So disrespectful on every level. If I had a bag of popcorn I would have thrown it at them in exasperation but I only had a banana peel. But it’s all good. Jordan Peele got their money anyway.

Now, onto the cinema experience. I got to the cinema a bit late which is VERY unusual for me. I like to be early to secure my seat. Anyway, I’d reserved my seats from home. I chose premier because they weren’t expensive and it meant I’d be in the very back row. There was a massive queue at the ticket machines when I arrived but I bypassed the confused customers and got mine and did a mad run to the screen room.

There were two girls sat in my seat. Trying to pull a fast one and sit in premier seats on the sly. Sorry, you need to move. Once the cheeky beggars vacated my seat I sat down and waited for Get Out to begin.

I loved the opening. If you’ve seen it you’ll know what I mean. It set the entire premise for the movie. The music was great. Run, Rabbit, Run and I’m Having the Time of My Life were my favourites because of how they were used. As was Redbone which is a fantastic song. Topical and the beat is lit.

How I feel about Get Out will of course be influenced by my experience as a black woman growing up in England, a predominately white and ‘Christian’ country. I also make an effort to keep up to date with race relations in America so that, too, will impact my experience of Get Out.

In short, Get Out is fire. Plain and simple. Jordan Peele knocked it out of the frickin’ park with this one. Daniel Kaluuya needs to take a bow. There’s no need to worry about what stupid Samuel said. Kaluuya portrayed the black experience with exquisite truth and finesse. His Britishness doesn’t detract from his performance. Not sure what Samuel has been smoking but he’s been talking some crap recently.

What I loved about Get Out was it inspired genuine fear for mundane situations. Mundane situations for white people, that is. When you see a police car pull up, for example. The whole audience gasped. I felt an unease watching Kaluuya as Chris Washington navigate a family gathering, of mainly white people, with his white girlfriend. I felt intense sympathy when Chris reaches out to a supposed ally only to find this person is anything but.

The conversations Chris has with Rose’s parents and friends are so realistic. I know what it’s like to have a white friend and have their parents talk to you like you’re an alien. Then there’s the unnecessary and sometimes embarrassing declarations that are made to somehow prove how non-racist/ignorant the said speaker is.

The comic relief came in the form of LilRel Howery as Rod Williams. I loved him. He is a gem in this movie. He says what the audience is thinking and acts as the woke black person who recognises the danger that Chris fails to see.

Betty Gabriel as Georgina/Grandma was amazing. Her role is small but she did so well at creating a tense atmosphere. As did Marcus Henderson as Walter/Grandpa. I felt like these characters represented the black people who don’t wish to rock the boat. The ones who are content with upholding the status quo because they’re treated like ‘family’ by their oppressors.

I made a few notes throughout the viewing. There’s a character who I thought would be an ally. At first it appears that he’s treating Chris like a human being. He doesn’t appear to be prejudiced. He has an impairment, one that some people like to beg, because they think it’s an acceptable response when defending themselves against being seen as racist (I’m trying so hard not to spoil it for you!). As Get Out progresses, it becomes painfully clear that despite this impairment, this character is nothing but a predator.

Alison Williams as Rose Armitage, Chris’ girlfriend, slayed this role. All I can say without spoiling it is she is very convincing. I will leave it at that. One more thing I want to add. I’ve never seen a ponytail and crisp white shirt look so sinister.

I’m trying to understand the meaning of the camera flash. The effect it has on the oppressed. What is the camera flash? Does it break the oppressed out of their trance? Their hypnotised state that keeps them from fighting back? I really enjoyed this symbolism.

Get Out made me laugh. Get Out made me afraid and at times, paranoid. Get Out made me angry and then it made me rejoice. Get Out found the perfect balance between comedy and horror. It hit all the right notes. Down to the inclusion of the lone male Asian character. Even Asian people on Twitter have supported this portrayal and explained why it was necessary – a confession that shook me to my core.

I can honestly see myself viewing Get Out for a second time. I don’t normally pay to see films twice but Get Out deserves a second viewing. This is how all comedy horrors should be. Apparently Jordan Peele will be making more movies about the current ”social ills”. I wholeheartedly look forward to his next instalment.

Get Out gets a huge thumbs up from me. It was funny, menacing, topical and most importantly, truthful. If you see Get Out, let me know what you think.

Stay woke, guys.

Love black pistachio x

8 thoughts on “Cinematic Fire – Get Out the Comedy Horror Everyone is Talking About”

  1. Never have I watched a movie that made me feel as many emotions as Get Out. The whole time I was thinking about the type of mind it takes to create a masterpiece like that one. Really amazing.You hit your description of the characters right on the head girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much!
      I think for a lot of people it will sting or be a cathartic experience seeing their struggles so effortlessly depicted on the big screen. I know it’s inspiring a lot of discussion which is great. Those are my favourite movies 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

